A warm welcome awaits you in Ste. Genevieve. Come stay with us as you experience the special ambience of this unique historic village. Fine examples of 18th century French colonial architecture-in a concentration greater than anywhere else in the United States-are found in Ste. Genevieve today.
A National Historic Landmark, the Bolduc House was built about ca1792 by Louis Bolduc, incorporating timbers from the owner’s earlier home located in the original village of Ste. Genevieve. The structure’s vertical-log walls are mortised into massive sills that rest on a limestone foundation, a sophisticated poteaux-sur-sole construction. Its double pitched hip roof is supported by a series of heavy oak timbers that constitute a Norman truss system. The Bolduc House is regarded as the first most authentically restored Creole house in the nation, earning the respect of architectural historians everywhere. Accurately restored with original 18th century furnishings, living quarters, stockade fence, 18th century French herb gardens and grape arbor, the Bolduc House is unquestionably an architectural treasure. The gift shop features Quimper faience, books, herbs and things French. Open April through October. Admission includes house and garden tours.
Address: 125 S. Main
The Amoureux House was built ca1792 by Jean Baptiste St. Gemme Beauvais overlooking le grand champ, the agricultural fields of Ste. Genevieve. Its upright cedar log walls are set directly in the earth, in the rare poteaux-en-terre method of construction. Heavy, hewn timbers form the Norman truss, which supports the steeply-pitched roof, reminiscent of French Canada. Purchased by Benjamin Amoureux in 1852, the house is now part of the Felix Vallé State Historic Site. An impressive diorama depicting the village of Ste. Genevieve in 1832 is featured. Seasonal opening. Admission charge.
Address: 327 St. Marys Road
Website: See Felix Vallé House State Historic Site
This historic site, built in 1818, was the home of Felix and Odile Pratte Vallé, members of one of Ste. Genevieve’s premier colonial families. This important Federal-style limestone building features the authentically restocked mercantile store of the historic trading firm of Menard and Vallé. The family’s living quarters display beautiful early Empire furnishings with original mantels and interior trim. A back porch staircase leads to second floor bedrooms. The charming garden features original brick and frame outbuildings. Gift shop on site. Admission charge.
Address: Merchant & Second Streets
Website: Felix Vallé House State Historic Site
The Jacques Guibourd Historic House was constructed in 1806 in the poteaux-sur-sole style with vertical, hand-hewn log walls and double pitched roof. This important National Register site is the only historic house in Ste. Genevieve where the visitor can view and study 'up close', the Norman truss architecture employed at the time. The house displays a more refined rendition of the typical French Colonial residence in the era of Lewis and Clark and is finished with elegant French antiques. The museum is owned and operated by the Foundation for Restoration of Ste. Genevieve, Inc. as a memorial to its donor, Jules Felix Vallé. The Jacques Guibourd House gives discounts to members of organizations who participate in the Time Travelers Program. Admission includes a costumed docent-guided tour. Senior and group discounts are available, and there's a small gift shop on site. Open daily April through November except Wednesday. Open on Saturday and Sunday December through March. Closed on Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years Day. Group tours at any time by appointment.
Address: Fourth and Merchant Streets
The Bolduc-LeMeilleur House was built in 1820 by the grandson-in-law of Louis Bolduc. The brace frame structure with brick noggings is an interesting example of combined French and American influences on local architecture. It has been accurately restored and furnished with fine examples of early Federal pieces. Vintage herb and scented gardens of the early 19th century complement the house. Open April through October. Admission charge.
Address: 123 S. Main
Established in 1787, the 'Oldest Cemetery in Missouri' is the resting place for many of the city's and state's pioneers.
Address: Fifth and Merchant Streets
The museum contains varied collections of local memorabilia. Items of interest include: prehistoric and historic Indian relics, old documents and Spanish land grants, artifacts from Missouri’s first industry, the Saline Creek Salt Works and a scale model of the Mississippi River Railroad Transfer Boat “The Ste. Genevieve.” Gift shop on site. Open daily. Admission charge.
Address: Merchant & DuBourg Place
Locally refered to as The French Connection, the Ste. Genevieve - Modoc Ferry is a quick connection between Sainte Genevieve, Missouri and southern Illinois. From Illinois, the ferry provides a direct access to the shops, restaurants and historic sites of French Colonial Sainte Genevieve. From Ste. Genevieve, the ferry offers a quick route to Fort de Chartres, Pierre Menard Home and Fort Kaskaskia State Historic Parks - as well as other interesting attractions in Southern Illinois. The ferry also provides a direct route for area truckers, farmers and industries, and is the official crossing point for bicyclists enjoying the Great River Road or the Mississippi River Bicycle Trail.
The ferry operates year-round, except when river conditions make ferry operation unsafe. Daily operating information is available by calling the Ste. Genevieve Welcome Center 573-883-7097 or see the ferry's website below.
Ste. Genevieve-Modoc Ferry is Owned by:
New Bourbon Regional Port Authority
P.O. Box 366
Perryville, Missouri 63775
The Ste. Genevieve-Modoc Ferry is Operated by:
Ste. Gen-Modoc Ferry Inc.
P.O. Box 302
Ste. Genevieve, MO 63670
Rates: Click HERE for current rates
Member Missouri Port Authority Association